top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDash of Pyaar

Lamb Seekh Kabab with Halal Guys Inspired Rice!

This is a weeknight meal that really came together so quickly!


Since I've been WFH, I'm able to quickly marinate things in the morning before starting work and if I get time mid-day (IF I don't have a lunch meeting!) I try to prep/pull together the rest. I've found if I do this, I can make time to do other things after work (i.e. short nap. Mama needs that to put up with two boys!)


This meal was SO good, if I do say so myself - AND my boys loved it! I gave the kabab in a hamburger bun to my toddler to make for easier eating and he gobbled it all up!


The garlic dip was from Trader Joe's - #iykyk - LOVE that dip!


I've listed the recipe for the kababs below. The halal guys inspired rice recipe was from @tableofspice and can be found here (adapted with a few extra spices!). I love all of her recipes so do check out her page!


Kabab Marinade:

  1. 16 oz ground lamb

  2. 1/2 medium sized white onion

  3. 1/3 cup chopped mint leaves

  4. 1/2 tsp garam masala, coriander powder, red chilly powder, sumac and za'atar

  5. 1 tbsp Shaan Tikka Masala (or any other brand lamb masala)

  6. 1 tbsp Tandoori Masala (I use Kisna)

  7. 2 tbsp oil

  8. 2 tbsp oil for pan frying


Steps to make Kabab:

  1. Put all ingredients in a bowl and mix. Marinate for 2+ hours, covered, in the fridge

  2. Once ready to cook, grease hands. Take out a chunk of the meat and create a kabab shape, working to roll between your hands. Keep each kabab aside.

  3. In a flat pan/griddle, add oil.

  4. Once pan is heated, place each kabab roll and let it cook approximately 3-4 minutes on each side (top/bottom/each side) until it is cooked through and charred on all sides. Do not continuously flip, so as to retain the moisture in the kabab.


Rice:

  1. 2.5 cups chicken/ veggie stock

  2. 1.5 cup basmati rice

  3. 2 tbsp butter

  4. 1 tsp red chilly powder, turmeric, cumin powder, garam masala

  5. Salt to taste

  6. Topped with pomegranate

Steps to make rice:

  1. Over medium flame, add butter to a dutch oven or any medium sized non stick pot that has a lid

  2. Once butter melts, add spices and sautee for 2 minutes

  3. Add rice and cook for about 4 minutes, stirring constantly, allowing rice to roast

  4. Add in chicken broth and stir. Close lid and cook for approximately 15 minutes.

  5. Once cooked, top with pomegranate before serving



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page